Planning Special Rituals


By John Beckett

I’ve always loved ritual.  The opportunity to compose, lead, and participate in ritual is one of my favorite things about being Pagan.  So it’s no surprise I write about ritual a lot – here are some of my favorite pieces: A Pagan Ritual Outline Common Ritual Errors and How to Avoid Them The Challenges of Large Public Rituals Last week I saw a request for help on a child naming ceremony.  Then earlier this week I responded to a Facebook request for suggestions on composing a ritual for a CUUPS group to mark its passage through some difficult times and to recommit themselves to their community and their values.  And it occurred to me that most of what’s out there on ritual composition deals with seasonal rites of worship and celebration.  There’s not much on rituals for special occasions.  I have this piece on Composing Initiation Rituals, but that’s about it. – See more at:

http://www.patheos.com/blogs/johnbeckett/2014/06/planning-special-rituals.html

Author: Cianaodh Óg

Cianaodh (Pronounced Key-Ah-Knee) is Old Irish and means Ancient Fire. Óg is also Old Irish and it means Young which is my surname in modern English. My given or legal name is James "Troy" Young but my chosen, magickal name is Cianaodh Óg and most people who know me outside of my spiritual family know me by my middle name, Troy. I am the High Priest of Tribe Of the Standing Stones in Arlington, Texas - Spirit Of the Sycamore Tradition and variety blogger as well as Chief High Mucky Muck at Alliance of Polyspiritual Eclectics.

Leave a Reply

