Culann’s Hound 18: O Mournful Wonder


Linnet Moss

For my version of the Cúchulainn myth, I relied for the most part upon English translations of the Irish sagas. But once or twice I also drew on Yeats, who wrote a number of poems and plays about Cúchulainn. The phrase “mournful wonder” describing Cúchulainn’s unusual eyes comes from Yeats’ poem “Cuchulain’s Fight With the Sea.”

Among those feasting men Cuchulain dwelt,
And his young sweetheart close beside him knelt,
Stared on the mournful wonder of his eyes,
Even as Spring upon the ancient skies,
And pondered on the glory of his days…

antrim-coast-road-northern-ireland-giants-causeway-coastal-route-1-620x410 A restless sea beside the Giants’ Causeway in Northern Ireland. Photo: Travel Addicts (click for source).


18. O Mournful Wonder

Scáthach lay in the soft grass beneath a certain apple tree in the grove she maintained on her island. The late afternoon breeze was pleasantly cool, and from time to time she took a bite of the ripe apple…

View original post 888 more words

Author: Cianaodh Óg - a.k.a. Troy Young

Cianaodh (Pronounced Key-Ah-Knee) is Old Irish and means Ancient Fire. Óg is also Old Irish and it means Young which is my surname in modern English. My given or legal name is James "Troy" Young but my chosen, magickal name is Cianaodh Óg and most people who know me outside of my spiritual family know me by my middle name, Troy. I am the High Priest of Tribe Of the Standing Stones in Arlington, Texas - Spirit Of the Sycamore Tradition and variety blogger as well as Chief High Mucky Muck at Alliance of Polyspiritual Eclectics.

1 thought on “Culann’s Hound 18: O Mournful Wonder”

Leave a Reply

